Getting my Social On

Bird: Time for another Blue Jay, this one sating around looking majestic 🙂
BlueJayWed_4877

Something a little different, here is a wild Flower, picture taken years ago in KY. Trillium Toadshade.
Trillium Toadshade_9940
When I took pictures of wild flowers years ago, I also took the time to look up the name of that flower and I have not done that in a long time. There is so much to learn in a life time and so little time to learn it, perhaps I should start doing that again.

Hits: On my blog there is a Stats section where it shows me that I got from 3 to 20 hits or so each day and I usually just give it a glance and move on because I write my blog for my own record mostly (and just a few friends). The point being I don’t really concern myself with the hits too much because there is just not that many, however yesterday I had a whopping 367 hits which is very unusual for my little old blog. I would not have even notice if it was not in a bar graph form, which make the amount of hits stick out a bit. Here is a picture so you can see what I mean.
Hits photo Hits_zps724125a2.jpg

Okay, what happen here? I guess here of late I have just been getting my social on, LOL. How you ask? Well I guess I am interacting a lot more with other bloggers. Yesterday I went into my reader and went to all the blogs I like and caught up on my reading, so it must be all the interaction I’ve got going on. Just for the record if I read a blog it is because I like it and not because I’m looking for hits. There are lots of blogs out there, so no one has the time to read all the blogs they like everyday (or maybe every month or year) because there are just so many good ones, but I do read a few that I like.

I have linked to a couple of new blogs lately too and maybe I feeding off their popularity.

So ….. the question is,” Am I getting more social in my old age?” LOL! Yes I am, and not only on the internet but in person too. I don’t see this as good or bad, it just is, and who knows, it could change, I have my moments  😈

All this said, it could have been something else that cause all these hits yesterday, but catching up on my reading and adding a couple new links and being linked by these two people s blogs (Thanks Jeanne and Barbara). These are the only things I can think of  I have done differently.

Update; Wow, I don’t know what is happening, I just looked at my stats again and I am off and running again today, with over 200 hits! With all these visitors, I am beginning  to feel bashful, LOL.

VA and a Doctor appointments: This afternoon I am going to chat with the Doc at the VA clinic and I already know that s/he is going to tell me my cholesterol is high, I’m not sure how high. I hope I don’t have to start on medication for it, because I find it a pain to get meds on the road, so I am hoping for the best. I’ll update on this later.

Updater; Wrong again!

Update; Not good, I am dehydrated and my potassium is high.  I am to change a couple of things in my diet and go back in two weeks for blood work again. Oh, I have to slack up on my exercise for a week before I go back too 😦  Never had a doctor tell me that before. My diet soda is out and if it turns out to be causing me problems it will be forever ……. and may be anyway, just not good for you. No more bananas and drink more water(already drink a gal a day), I guess I’ll be able to drink two gallons a day now that I am taking the pop back out. The dehydration is probably connected to the Atkins diet, which I talk to the doctor about. It being connected to the diet is the best case scenario, that can be changed easily if need be. Hopefully small changes will take care of things. I guess my HDL cholesterol number where really good the doc like that. I guess I’ll know more about things at the end of the month, after more blood work and seeing the doctor again.

Long winded post today!

Night folks

5 thoughts on “Getting my Social On

  1. I think it’s great that you keep up with your health, so many people don’t. I sure do, and if some levels are not good, I try to fix them with diet and exercise. Sometimes that will work, sometimes it won’t.

    I’m like you in the social arena. The first couple of years on the road I was much more reclusive and am just starting to really enjoy meeting up with more people. Like you, I don’t know if it will last, but I enjoy more social time now, and also enjoy my alone time. Best of both worlds. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi John – I found your blog from Barbara’s, too. Love your photos. I smiled when I read about your take on your blog’s stats. Exactly how I feel! I put up things that are meaningful to me, and to have a photo journal. Hits are nice, but I most love it when people comment and I can “talk” to them and exchange ideas.

    Re: Diet sodas – take a stroll around the net on the “evils” of the stuff, and you will be glad to give them up forever!

    Virtual hugs,

    Judie

    Like

    1. Hi Judie, Thanks for stopping by 🙂 The diet soda and I have had the battle going on for some time now, I had stopped all soda for 7 weeks and started back about 3 weeks ago, but the fight is back on again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

