City and chores

Pictures: I have three folder of pictures from the area and I am still on the second one, so …… more to come. I was lucky to have some overcast days when I came and it made for good photographing 🙂

Kingman 18_20d_181015

Kingman 20_20d_181015

City: Went into Kingman today and did a few chores, pick up water for the RV, pick up a few gallon jugs of water for my drinking water, did the laundry and little shopping. Such is the exciting life of an old dude out in the wide RVing!

New Lens: Ha, that is probably a year out, only one toy at a time. I have been looking at the Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM Lens a lot but that thing is just too costly for me just now. The 100-400 with a 1.4 ext would give me a nice reach of 560mm. I think in a year the price will drop some and maybe by then I’d be ready to buy. I have looked a lot at the Sigma 150-600mm f/5-6.3 DG OS HSM C lens too, a much cheaper lens with about 90% of the ability of the Canon lens. The Sigma would be great competition for the Canon on the long end seeing as I would have to use the 1.4 ext on the Canon but from 100-400 the Canon would be the top dog for sure! Given the choice and money not being a considerations, I would for sure go with the Canon but seeing as the Sigma is half the price and money is a considerations, well ….. Just thinking on it all 🙂 Jump in with comments if you have thoughts on it.
My long lens for now are the Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM Lens and the Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM Lens with no IS. Both great lens but I would trade the two of them and some dollars for the new Canon 100-400mm II. Oh I do have the Canon EF 1.4X II Extender, would be nice to upgrade to the III. Of course I could go on with a long list of all the gear I would love to have …. but I’ll make do I guess! LOL

Night folks

15 thoughts on “City and chores

  1. I like the second picture with the boulders. The sky and clouds in the upper left are fantastic. I’m a bit confused with what you said about the 100-400mm lens. I thought the Canon 7D II has an APS-C sensor with a crop factor of 1.6 which would put the long end of the lens at 640mm and if Canon is like Nikon you almost need a second mortgage to get a 640mm prime. To that you add the 1.4 extender and get the equivalent of 896mm. This spring I bought a Nikkor 80-400mm zoom on sale and with the 1.5 crop factor on my D7100 that gave me 600mm equivalent. A Nikkor 600mm prime would have cost me 10x what I paid for the zoom. Of course the latter would be better lens but I wouldn’t be a better photographer able to take advantage of the difference. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks David, yes you are right if you take into account the Corp factor of the Camera. The Canon 600 prime will set one back about $10k I won’t be doing that LOL. On the other hand the two lens I was speaking of are much cheaper. The Canon 100-400 II is a great lens and can be had for about $2k now, I’ve seen it for as low as $1850.00 (grey market) and I think it’ll go down more. The Sigma C 150-600 I have seen on sale for as low as $800, but it’s not the lens the Canon is. We’ll see when the time comes. My Canon 400 that I have now with my 1.4 ext give me 560mm (without the Camera crop) but no image stabilizer which I need at that length if off the tripod. The 7d II will shoot at F8 (My other two crop camera well not) so with the Sigma + a 1.4 ext and the 7d II crop camera I’d have some reach, but a bit of reduced quality 🙂 …. Still it’d be fun to play with that reach!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Oh by the way David, if you had the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 600mm f/4G ED Vibration Reduction lens I think your skills would have you taking advantage of it pretty quick 😉 of course you might have to give up your car or something 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, of the Sigma’s the Sigma 150-600 contemporary is the newer of the bunch I think, of course there is the Sigma 150-600 sport but it is right up there in price with the Canon. I’ve got a bit of time to think on it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes. There was an interesting article about the various lenses you mention including the canon zooms in the African Birdlife Sept/Oct edition. Comparing Build, ease of use, focus speed and image quality..the Canon 400 f4.5 beat canon 100-400 mrII by whisker, except for build. Sigma sport beat 50-500/150-600 (equal).

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am not familiar with a Canon 400 f4.5 , and couldn’t find any info on such lens. The Sigma sport is a good lens but cost as much as the Canon 100-400mm II and picking between the two I’d go with the Canon for the same money. The Sigma 150-600mm Contemporary on the other hand is less than half the price of the Canon 100-400mm II . Might be hard for me to justify paying twice as much for only 2/3 the reach with the Canon, but if the price comes down enough I’d get the Canon lens.

        Like

  2. I have used the Sigma 150-600mm f/5-6.3 DG OS HSM C for about 6 months now and love it, especially for bird and wildlife photos. It has done everything I wanted to do with it. Next step is to get the Sigma 1.4 extender to increase its long range.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I feel your pain! I love the primes, but can’t handle the price of the 400mm or 500mm Nikon lenses, and the weight of the 400mm is hard for me to handle. I rented it once. Loved the images, but struggled using it due to weight. A lot of the places I bird are on reserves that are mostly auto-routes. It was a chore man-handling the 400mm in my car. 🙂 It’s huge!

    I’d like to try the 500mm one day.

    I was just looking at the Tamron 150-600mm over at Borrowlenses and thought about renting it for an upcoming bird outing, but am waffling. I will take my old 300mm and 1.4xTC and hope it holds up. As you know it’s Auto-focus is acting up again.

    Is there a local store there that will do trade-ins? I know there’s one in Santa Barbara, CA but you’re a ways from there. KEH.com has a promotion going on now to get 5-10% more for your gear. You can get an online quote to see what they’d offer you for the two lenses. If that sounds about right then complete the forms, mail in your gear, and wait for the check then maybe you won’t have to save as long, or go into debt too long for the new lens. Be prepared they’ll offer you a bit less than you probably could get selling on your own. I imagine trading-in at a camera store the price offered would be about what KEH would offer. Just a thought.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If only I had the big money …… If go with the big primes, maybe a Canon 600mm II , but at the that money that not going to happen 😦 I’d be happy to fight the weight, but it’s probably not the best walkaround lens. I’ve read a lot of Comparisons between the Sigma and Tamron 150-600 lens and most seem to lean toward the Sigma.
      I’d looked at the ideal of trading in my lens, most of the big stores B&H, Adorama and others will take your old lens but they want to make themself a Nice profit when they do! Still I keep it in mind. I’ve not done any Business with KEH, I’ll have to check them out.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I know the feeling John. Same dilemma for me. But there is also the Tamron 150/600mm that is cheaper. I do believe the Sigma is a better choice because I think their lens is superior. I have been thinking about those 2, but deep down what I want is the Canon 600mm lens. The problem is COST. Perhaps a used one would do and I have a lot of thinking to do before I can decide. Hope to find a good deal.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh man, wouldn’t the Canon 600mm II (near 10k) or even the 600mm Mark one (used for maybe 6k) be nice to have? Unfortunately not happening at my house 😦 After those two my next choice would be the Canon 500mm Mark one (Maybe 3500 to 5000 used). Another fine choice would be a 300mm f2.8 Mark one (used for around 3500) I’ve seen good stuff out of that lens when used with both the 1.4 and 2x ext. But seeing as I don’t make money with this stuff, it just for fun and I’m a poor boy …… My choices will be between the Canon 100-400mm II and the Sigma 150-600mm contemporary lens. Oh, I’ve seen the 100-400mm Mark one used at about 1000 too but I might take the Sigma over it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

