Changing OS

Pictures: Black-headed Grosbecks, older shots.

Black-headed Grosbeak photo Black-headedGrosbeak7-3-12.jpg

Black-headed Grosbeak Male photo Black-headedGrosbeakM1.jpg

Mac???: Yes I have ordered me a Mac and I have never used one so it is going to be interesting to say the least. The thing is I have looked for a new laptop and the Macs are nice looking machines. The safety net is that I can run Windows on it with a dual boot or in a virtual box. I will play awhile on the Mac side to see if it is a OS I will like and then add Windows, I think. It should be fun learning a new OS, maybe a little nuts but fun. I got a Macbook Pro 15.4 I should get the machine next week at some point. Any Mac folks out there please stand by to help save me 🙂 when I can’t figure out how to do the simple little things! I have studied …… I don’t even know if I need to get a Mouse for it or not, there seem to be some in the Apple camp that say they do not use a Mouse at all, they just use the track pads. A friend tells me about any mouse will work so I’m sure I have one or two around somewhere.
Any good Mac advice is welcome, just remember I know nothing 😦
By the way the unit I got is a refurbish unit from Apple (this years model). I like refurbish when done by the manufacturer of whatever it is I am buying, because they want to make themselves look good, they usually give the same warranty as a new unit, and they cut off some dollars.

Changing OS: Well maybe more like adding a new OS, I’m sure I won’t give up Windows completely. Could be interesting to see what I end up using the most. At first I know it will be the Mac till I am sure that I can at least be a basic user and maybe a bit more because I do like to play, we’ll see.

Night folks

21 thoughts on “Changing OS

  1. Wow, that’s a big step. Every time I need a new laptop I look at the Macs, but the price difference has kept me from buying one so far. I did get an iPad Air just to see how I liked Apple products, and so far I like it, but I don’t use it much. Good idea getting a refurbished from the manufacturer. That gets you a good unit at a reduced price. If I ever decide to get one, I’ll remember that. I’m looking forward to hearing about what you think about it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Barbara, at first the only thing from me will be a bit of fussing as I began to figure things out, LOL! I just could not find a PC that had the good spec that the Mac did and it will run Windows if I need it to. I won’t be buying a new computer for a while after this one, they do cost!!!!

      Like

  2. Way back in the late 70’s I had a MAC. I learned computer on a MAC, but both my and He-Man’s companies ran on PC’s. When we started working at home we switched to PC. We both missed MAC’s so much in the beginning, but time went on the company stayed with PC, we adapted, and now don’t know how to use MAC’s! A few years ago the company starting using MAC’s in addition to PC’s, but we’re heavily invested in our PC’s now. When I need to upgrade I’m seriously considering going back to MAC. He-Man is my IT guy though so he may not welcome the change. “) We’ll see.

    Congrats on the new OS system, and best of luck with the learning curve!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I do look forward to my new toy! I can’t see given up Windows but I like the ideal of having more/different ways to do things and I enjoy learning so for me I think it’ll be fun. I’ll give a update every now and then to say how it’s going 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Good for you! I know you will be converted in no time. As a very long in the tooth apple user I personally use the trackpad. I wouldn’t divide my disc space to run Windows but of course it is your choice. Any queries you have will have an answer in apple forums and Apple Store run classes which are invaluable for new users. You can even sign up for one to one.
    Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. One word: WELCOME! ;-> DH is a programmer (since 1962) and can write code in a whole bunch of languages, but we are a totally Mac shop. He does run Parallels on his MacBook to read his medical disks. I have a MacBook Pro, too, but always use the trackpad. I have a mouse and a keyboard, but they get zero use. Just no need for them, and they just take up precious space on the dinette.

    Virtual hugs,

    Judie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha, now I know who the computer geek is that visits my blog and who I can bug for help 😉 If I go with Windows on the Mac I think I’ll want to duel boot because I’ll want full function of all the hardware and from what I am reading that is the way to go …….. but then I don’t really know just yet. I’ll post about how it’s going now and then and I hope you’ll give me input because I’m sure I’ll need it! Thanks 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I use an iMac John, but i don’t know much about many things. I changed from Windows many moons ago, because of problems I was having and I was told by many that Mac is better for handling photography etc. I am very pleased with it and can’t complain. The good things with Mac is buying a Support Service. They will stand by you and help you in any shape or form of problems you may have. It costs about $167.00 approximately for 2 years I believe. They even replaced my computer once because they were having problems fixing it. No questions asked. It’s a good choice you made. Good luck.
    BTW, these Grosbeaks pictures are fantastic. I don’t expect less from you. Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Alix! I’ll keep in mind about the support services. I think the biggest thing that pull me over to a Mac is the hardware, I like things that are well build and I never heard anyone say bad things about Apple hardware! Now the OS …… guess I’ll be finding out just what I think of that 🙂

      Like

    1. No, the two biggest reason are that I like the hardware form Apple (pretty good spec and great battery life, a combination I couldn’t seem to find with a Windows machine ) and the other reason is that I like to learn new things. I like Windows 10 just fine. I will probably be using both a good bit, I do like to play 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

