Is it over?

Peeking out: I am peeking out now …. looking around ….. is it over? Is it safe to come out now? Is it time to start a new year? I did so good right up till the end, LOL. Some years me and the holidays ain’t the best of friends other years not so bad, I never know till they come. Never-no-matter, I hope that everyone else had a great and fun Holiday and I hope the New Year brings all the things you wish for.
As for me, the things I need to do this new year is get back on a better diet, start back exercising, get the camera busy and get my blog going again. All these things keep me busy and content most of the time, I hope they still will.

I am still looking at Lens for my camera and I am still looking at computers but I’m not buying any, just yet. Still got my eye on the 100-400 canon L and am still thinking on the Apple computer. I seen the 100-400 L as low as $1500 refurbished this year (I missed the deal) and I find it hard to up more money once I’ve seen a good deal and that may not come again till next year. The new price will come down a little more too, maybe this year coming. I’ll keep watching.

On the computer side, if I am going to put the cost of a high-end Apple computer into a computer I want one with high standards and newer connections because I plan on keeping that computer for a long time. The thing I want to see in my next new computer is the Thunderbolt 3 Standard with C type connectors which I think will become a standard pretty quick once it starts getting out there because it will be a kind of catch-all connector. I am near sure PC will go that way, …. and Apple …. well we’ll see. Thunderbolt 3 and C-connector are different things but can and will more than likely be joined, and Intel is doing that. The only computer out with that just yet that I know of, is the Dell computers. The good thing about Thunderbolt 3 is that it is very fast and when combined with the C-connector is compatible with about everything up to this point, USB 2, USB 3, USB 3.1 and the very fast Thunderbolt 3. Adapters from C type to USB should come soon after the C-connectors start hitting the market. Of course when using a slower USB device you will only get the speed that the device will offer but it will connect. Now all that being said this is just what “I” think is going to come to be and it may …. or it may not!

I have given a lot of thinking to the Apple computers and the latest iMac sure looks nice. It would be a lot lower powered then the desktop that I have now (good for me on solar) and is a fine-looking Machine for sure with the most updated specs Apple has for now. I am hoping that maybe the next Macbook Pro will have some big updates and maybe that will pull me into the Mac world. I don’t much buy a computer for now but for the future and at that cost it will have to be into the future a ways!
I take a long time on things like this because I am kind of stuck with whatever it is that I get, seeing as I don’t much have that kind of money to change my mind later on! I am sure that maybe some of you, like most people, have been in the place where you are paying for something that you wish you didn’t have but still have to pay for it …. I don’t want to be there!

Pictures: Anna’s Hummers, picture taken only a few minutes ago 🙂

Anna's hummer 9_7D_2301215

Anna's 16_7D_2301215

Night folks

9 thoughts on “Is it over?

  1. When I worked at Apple (80’s and 90’s), I got a right nice employee discount, but the retail prices then were staggering compared to today’s prices, and they were worth almost nothing in about three years. We ran our desktop Mac II fx without ever turning it off for over 11,000 hours, and it still worked perfectly the day we sold it to a dealer for $125.00. Original retail had been something like $12K, if my brain is remembering correctly.

    Yup – I was right! Holy cow!

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Macintosh_IIfx

    Over the decades, we have purchased refurbs and new machines, and, although AppleCare will take care of you in either instance, I have always been happier with a totally new machine. Can’t really put my finger on it, though. Just seemed to work better and not really worth it – trying to save a few bucks by getting a used unit. I don’t think refurbs are discounted enough to make it worthwhile.

    Virtual hugs,

    Judie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, yes maybe next time I’ll go for the new one! You think Mac will take up the new Thunderbolt 3 ? I hope they do, I think maybe it’ll be a standard, but one never knows …..! 12K wow, I like my computers but not that much! LOL, I’m a little bent thinking I’ll pay near 3K for one! The new iMac 27 inch computes are tempting, but being in the RV doing solar power I think I’ll be better off with a high end laptop and maybe a 4K monitor for the times a 15 inch screen wouldn’t do. From reading around on the Mac info sites looks like the MacBook Pro is due an update, so maybe that’ll be my time 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. DH was a programmer for NASA, and we got our use out of that machine. The technology was pretty new then, and we were early adopters. My first Mac on my desk at Apple did not even have a hard drive built in! It was an accessory, and the 10MB “monster” had as big a footprint as the original Macintosh that sat on top of it. Some people still had a Lisa as a desktop machine.

    As for Thunderbolt, she’s a comin’ . . .

    http://www.apple.com/thunderbolt/

    Looks like Apple is using Thunderbolt 2 now, so 3 must be in the works, so to speak. Looks like T3 could be a ton o’ fun!

    https://thunderbolttechnology.net/blog/thunderbolt-3-usb-c-does-it-all

    Now let’s talk about the forerunner to our precious digital cameras . . .

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apple_QuickTake

    I had one of those, too, and thought it was just “the berries”!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your hummers are gorgeous – and you just took them? Lucky you! I’ve been trying since I got here to get a GOOD photo, with the sun in the right place to light up the hummer at my feeder. I get a little red on his neck and I’m happy, but I’d be ecstatic if I got a photo like yours!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

