Big Fat Lizard (Gila Monster)

Pictures: This is the biggest Lizard I have seen lately πŸ™‚ Seen this one today on my bike ride in the rain. It was a little over a foot long and a good 4 inch in diameter. Oh, these shots taken with my old Canon 20D, it is the camera I take along if I think I might fall over and break something πŸ˜‰

Big Lizard 9_20D_080416

Big Lizard 17_20D_080416

Exercise: I went out for a bike ride but it starting raining which I didn’t mind so much but I didn’t like the thunder and lighting that came with it so I cut my ride short and headed back to the RV. I did get about 3.5 miles in.

Weather: We got rain, lots of rain, a very good thing.

Night Folks

9 thoughts on “Big Fat Lizard (Gila Monster)

  1. It’s a Gila Monster I think. #1 Grandson and I were just watching a program about them yesterday. How awesome that you saw one!

    Be safe out there! Do you carry a walkie-talkie in case there isn’t phone service and the something you break is you? Don’t make me be Mother! πŸ™‚ I fall into Mother mode really easy I’m afraid.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I looked up Gila Monster and I agree that is it πŸ™‚ This is the first time I’ve seen one, neat! LOL, for safety the only thing I had with me was a old phone that is not connected but can call 911 if I had to, There is good phone service in the area πŸ™‚ Oh, I do carry a can of bear spay, it is kind of old and should I meet a bear it may or may not work! I travel by myself so they would be no one to call on a walkie talkie. It is a good thing you’re not around me, I’m sure I would keep that mother mode in high gear LOL. Thanks for thinking of my safety πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful pictures. πŸ™‚ ItΒ΄s a very good camera, your old. What kind do you have now? I have just a 100D but itΒ΄s OK for me, I canΒ΄t even the half of the settings and take quite good pictures. My first camera was a used Canon 450D, I still have it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks John, I still have Canon Cameras, a 7D and a 7D Mark II . The 20D was my only camera for a long time and about 2 years ago I got the 7D from a friend of my for a good deal, and just pick up the 7D Mark II a few months ago. I like be able to throw the 20D in my back pack and not worry about it, and I can still get pretty fair pictures put of it, with it being only a 7mp camera.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Crowd has been kindly putting up with me going into Mother Mode for years. It’s kept them going too close to the edge of cliffs on more than one occasion! But, did I ever tell about the time I rappelled down the cliff off the pacific coast to get a sunset image? No? Going down was a piece of cake. Getting back up in the fog and damp was a whole nother story! Or the time I slid down the hill into a creek? Yeah my buddy laughed his a$$ off before coming to ask if I needed help. πŸ™‚ Or the time I tripped over dead iceplant vines over a cliff in Big Sur and by the Grace of God didn’t go over all the way with camera and tripod in tow? No one was near me then! I probably needed a Mother all those times!)

    I think I’ve used up 5 lives if I were a cat. Just sayin! So you be careful, and have a way to communicate with emergency services. Yeah, I’m in Mother Mode! Deal with it! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

