Chickadees and Robin

Pictures: Mountain Chickadee on my homemade Suet Feeder πŸ™‚ I put feeder up like this and them put out some limbs and branches for the birds to land on to get my photos.
I picked up a Thistle Feeder today while in town, now if I can just get the Goldfinches to understand how it works!

Mountain-Chicadee-9-7D2-010716

Robin.

Robin-16-7D2-010716

City Chores: Wow, long day driving into the city and back, but I should be well supplied for a week or two now. On of the fellow camping here in the area went with me so that made the day go better and the long ride not so boring.

Exercise: A day off πŸ™‚

Night folks

12 thoughts on “Chickadees and Robin

  1. Visitor Centre here in Kristianstad sets up four bird feeders each winter in the same, big, tree. Is there every day and studying the birds and photographs, so fun and interesting. Unfortunately, I live in an apartment so …

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The suet feeder is sure attracting them! Go visit backyardbirdnerd.com for a recipe of her Bark Butter — may be a bit too time-consuming and ingredients-wise, but it seems to do the trick. Lovely photos, John.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I looked up Bark Butter and I have not fed that but I have fed peanut butter. I usual just buy the Suet blocks from Walmart because they are cheap enough and ease to carry around in the RV. I seen a recipes for the bark butter online and it looks like it would be cheap and ease to make.

      Ingredients

      1 cup lard
      1 cup peanut butter, creamy
      1 cup all purpose flour
      4 cup yellow cornmeal

      Directions
      1. Mix and Serve

      This simple mix and serve treat attracts a lot of woodpeckers and other birds. Mix lard, peanut butter and flour. Then add cornmeal. Stir until it’s the consistency of putty.

      2. Press the mixture into the bark of trees or on your pinecone feeders, etc….then press bird seed and fruit into the tree incase of pinecone or such roll in bird seed and or fruit.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Alix, I like shooting the bird. Birds where the first thing I starting photographing when I got my first DSLR and continue to be my favorite thing to shoot.

      Like

Leave a Reply

